THE 10TH PANHELLENIC LOGIC SYMPOSIUM

2nd Announcement and Call for Papers

THE 10TH PANHELLENIC LOGIC SYMPOSIUM

June 11-15, 2015

Samos, Greece

http://samosweb.aegean.gr/pls10/index.html

HISTORY OF THE SYMPOSIUM

The Panhellenic Logic Symposium, a biennial scientific event established in 1997, aims to promote interaction and cross-fertilization among different areas of logic. Originally conceived as a way of bringing together the many logicians of Hellenic descent throughout the world, it has evolved into an international forum for the communication of state-of-the-art advances in Logic. The Symposium is open to researchers worldwide who work in logic, broadly conceived. The Tenth Panhellenic Logic Symposium will be hosted by the Department of Mathematics at the University of the Aegean, located at Karlovasi, Samos. The dates have been chosen so that participants may continue to participate in UNILOG 2015 http://www.uni-log.org/enter-istanbul (June 20-30, Istanbul).

PROGRAM OF THE SYMPOSIUM

The scientific program of the symposium will consist of one-hour long invited talks, two- to three-hour long tutorials, and about twenty-to-thirty-minute presentations of accepted contributed papers. There will also be a poster presentation and opportunities for students and young researchers to present work in progress. The following have accepted to deliver invited talks/tutorials:

- * J.-Y. Beziau (University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
- * L. Crosilla (University of Leeds, UK)
- * P. D'Aquino (Seconda Universita di Napoli, Italy)
- * S. Durhan (Middle-East Technical University, Turkey)
- * V. Gregoriadis (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
- * R. Sklinos (University of Lyon 1, France)
- * M. Soskova (Sofia University, Bulgaria)
- * N. Tzevelekos (Queen Mary University of London, UK)
- * X. Vidaux (University of Concepcion, Chile)

CALL FOR PAPERS

Original papers that fall within the scope of the symposium are solicited. Prospective speakers of twenty-five-minute presentations are invited to submit an extended abstract, in English, not exceeding five pages, by 12 April 2015.

Papers should be prepared using the EasyChair class style (available from http://www.easychair.org/publications/?page=1594225690) and submitted electronically, using the Easy Chair conference system, at http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=pls10. If possible, each submitted paper should be classified in one of the following areas (in alphabetical order):

- * Algebraic and Categorical Methods in Logic
- * Computability Theory
- * History and Philosophy of Logic
- * Logic in Computer Science
- * Model Theory
- * Nonclassical and Modal Logics
- * Proof Theory
- * Set Theory
- * Universal Logic

All submitted papers will be reviewed by the scientific committee of the symposium, who will make final decisions on acceptance or rejection. During the symposium, each accepted paper will be presented by one of its authors. Authors of submitted papers will be notified of the decision by 4 May 2015. Camera-ready extended abstracts will be due by May 31 for inclusion in the symposium proceedings.

POSTER SESSION

Graduate students and young researchers are invited to submit a short abstract on work in progress but not yet ready for a regular contributed talk. Authors of accepted abstracts will have an opportunity to present their results in poster form in a special poster session. Interested students should submit abstracts of no more than one page in .pdf form by May 31, by sending them to: pls10@aegean.gr

IMPORTANT DATES

- * Extended Deadline for Abstract Submission: April 12, 2015
- * Acceptance/Rejection Notification: May 4, 2015
- * Camera-ready Papers Deadline: May 31, 2015
- * Abstracts of Posters Deadline: May 31, 2015
- * Conference Dates: June 11-15, 2015

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Costas Dimitracopoulos, University of Athens Antonis Kakas, University of Cyprus Lefteris Kirousis, University of Athens Phokion G. Kolaitis, UCSC and IBM Research-Almaden Joan Moschovakis, Occidental College and MPLA Nikolaos Papaspyrou, National Technical University of Athens Thanases Pheidas, University of Crete (Chair, pheidas@math.uoc.gr) George Tourlakis, York University, Canada Stathis Zachos, National Technical University of Athens

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Charalampos Cornaros, University of Aegean (Chair, kornaros@aegean.gr) Costas Dimitracopoulos, University of Athens Nikolaos Papaspyrou, National Technical University of Athens

SYMPOSIUM WEBPAGE

http://samosweb.aegean.gr/pls10/index.html

CONTACT

PLS10 email address: pls10@aegean.gr

Thanases Pheidas (Chair of the Scientific Committee) http://fourier.math.uoc.gr/tmem/persons/pheidas.html

Charalampos Cornaros (Chair of the Organizing Committee)

Address: University of the Aegean Department of Mathematics 83200 Karlovasi, Samos Greece

Tel: +30 22730 82137 Fax: +30 22730 82109

Published by: Secretary MPLA, 2015-04-03.

Download date: 2024-04-25, 17:28.